Redefining Blessing

Today is a double-encouragement kind of day. I’m sharing two songs with a similar theme.

The first is “Gratitude” by Nichole Nordeman. This is an older song that I remember loving and posting on my dorm wall way back in college. I really cherish the very Biblical idea of praising God for what He gives, and being content with it. This song speaks of redefining our idea of a blessing — it may not always come in the material things or feelings we long for, like shelter or peace [or children], but in His not granting those things, we often gain much more valuable blessings. Here’s the song, with the lyrics.

The second song also speaks of looking for the blessings in trials and waiting, which are often to be cherished above the thing we are waiting for.

I’ll be honest, the reason I am posting this with another song is because I think it sounds a little cheesy. The first time I heard it, we were at a retreat, and I kind of giggled and rolled my eyes at the “raindrops” chorus… but when it was over, I looked over and saw my husband was teary-eyed! The next day when they sang it again, I really listened to the words and it sunk in deeper. So even though I still think it sounds a little cheesy [and later I got my husband to admit that he agrees!], the meaning is deep and really speaks to me. I especially relate to line about “a thousand sleepless nights” — amen, and amen!

My friend, I have one big, life-changing truth to suggest to you: If you can see your trial as more of a blessing than an awful curse, and take the time to see what God is using it for in your life, I can promise you it will make the days and months more bearable and [almost] welcomed, compared to the dread and misery you would otherwise face.

Ok, enough preaching, here’s the song. It’s called “Blessings” by Laura Story.

One thought on “Redefining Blessing

  1. Pingback: What Hinders Prayer? | Redeeming Infertility

Leave a Reply

