The Silence of God

I’m not sure if this will be an encouraging song for everyone, but the first time we heard it, my husband and I fell silent in the car and then both reached for the “replay” button when it was over. It really resonated with us, as we waited in the valley for the Lord to move. How many times I’ve cried out in prayer, wondering where God is and why I don’t feel or hear or see Him. I can’t even tell you how often I’ve wearily and tearfully cried out, “What are You??” It’s part of the trial, of course, and we know He’s always there, even when it’s not the most evident, but it’s still just as painful.

I also tear up sometimes at the end, when Jesus is referred to as “the man of all sorrows,” and I remember that He understands real pain. This name comes from Isaiah, a book written hundreds of years before Jesus came to earth. It says of Him in verse 3,

“He was despised and rejected by men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief.”

What a comfort to know our God is not distant and compassionless. He knows human pain firsthand. Here is a radio talk (and transcript) about this idea: https://woh.org/word/radio/1996/02/25, if you feel inclined to meditate on it more.

This is “The Silence of God,” by Andrew Peterson. The lyrics are in the video.

Leave a Reply

