Some books for in the meantime – Non-Infertility

If you are getting serious about using this time of waiting to grow in Christ, or if you just want something to distract you from the ocean of infertility information and meditation, here are some books I recommend, all in the genre of Christian growth, and none directly related to infertility.

“The Pursuit of God” by A.W. Tozer

tozerThis is one of my favorite books ever, and the first time I read it it changed so much about my life. It’s considered a Christian classic, and even if you’ve read it in the past, I recommend a second read. It’s based upon this key point: “To have found God and still pursue Him is the soul’s paradox of love.” It’s not a long book, either, so it should just take a few days, though there is so much to meditate on, it will undoubtably take longer to digest.

Knowing God” by J.I. Packer

packerThis excellent modern classic challenges the reader to go deeper in his or her reading of the Bible, and to meditate more fully on who God really is and how that affects us. It focuses on God’s attributes and the absolute truths of this world. It’s a medium-length book that will keep your mind engaged.

“Improving Your Serve” by Charles Swindoll

swindollYes, I know, you’re already working on yourself enough in this time. But if you want to try a different “field,” I highly recommend focusing on servanthood. This book had a tremendous impact on me and my view of servanthood and how to love others. It’s a lighter read than the first two, but just as influential.

“Worldliness” by CJ Mahaney & Others

cjmaThis one is kind of a wild card. I was sitting here thinking of books I’ve enjoyed, that were thought-provoking and original. I read this one with my church small group a few years ago, and it really opened up conversation about a lot of different topics. It could be a nice distraction for you, and if you have a small group to read it with, or maybe you and your spouse, it could be nice discussion. It’s on interacting with various “worldly” things as Christians (subjects like movies, music, and modesty) and viewpoints surrounding that. It’s a short book, but interesting.

Leave a Reply

