This is my prayer in the desert

seasonI can’t believe I haven’t yet thought to post this perfect song for our current struggle. I love how it talks about this time as being in the desert. I usually call it “the valley,” but I actually live in a desert so that imagery is very real to me. I also love that it points trial and despair back to praise and strength in God. May you make these words your heart’s honest anthem today and always: 

All of my life, in every season, You are still God, and I have reason to sing. 

Before listening to the song, just read the lyrics quietly to yourself. What great truths to meditate on. Praise be to God.

VERSE 1:
This is my prayer in the desert,
When all thats within me feels dry;
This is my prayer in my hunger and need,
“My God is the God who provides.”

VERSE 2:
This is my prayer in the fire,
In weakness or trial or pain,
“There is a faith proved
Of more worth than gold
So refine me Lord through the flame.”

CHORUS:
I will bring praise,
I will bring praise,
No weapon formed against me shall remain.
I will rejoice,
I will declare,
“God is my victory and He is here.”

VERSE 3:
This is my prayer in the battle,
When triumph is still on its way,
“I am a conqueror and co-heir with Christ
So firm on His promise I’ll stand.”

BRIDGE:
All of my life
In every season
You are still God
I have a reason to sing;
I have a reason to worship.

VERSE 4:
This is my prayer in the harvest,
When favor and providence flow,
“I know I’m filled to be emptied again;
The seed I’ve received I will sow.”

Leave a Reply

