Psalm 116 – The psalm you will sing, if you don’t already

I’m sharing this because I think it goes well with yesterday’s post. I also recommend Psalm 106, which I mentioned yesterday. 

ps116

Psalm 116 (ESV)

1 I love the Lord, because he has heard

my voice and my pleas for mercy.

2 Because he inclined his ear to me,

therefore I will call on him as long as I live.

3 The snares of death encompassed me;

the pangs of Sheol laid hold on me;

I suffered distress and anguish.

4 Then I called on the name of the Lord:

“O Lord, I pray, deliver my soul!”

5 Gracious is the Lord, and righteous;

our God is merciful.

6 The Lord preserves the simple;

when I was brought low, he saved me.

7 Return, O my soul, to your rest;

for the Lord has dealt bountifully with you.

8 For you have delivered my soul from death,

my eyes from tears,

my feet from stumbling;

9 I will walk before the Lord

in the land of the living.

10 I believed, even when I spoke:

“I am greatly afflicted”;

11 I said in my alarm,

“All mankind are liars.”

12 What shall I render to the Lord

for all his benefits to me?

13 I will lift up the cup of salvation

and call on the name of the Lord,

14 I will pay my vows to the Lord

in the presence of all his people.

15 Precious in the sight of the Lord

is the death of his saints.

16 O Lord, I am your servant;

I am your servant, the son of your maidservant.

You have loosed my bonds.

17 I will offer to you the sacrifice of thanksgiving

and call on the name of the Lord.

18 I will pay my vows to the Lord

in the presence of all his people,

19 in the courts of the house of the Lord,

in your midst, O Jerusalem.

Praise the Lord!

2 thoughts on “Psalm 116 – The psalm you will sing, if you don’t already

  1. Maria

    Thanks for this! I just found your blog and find it so refreshing. Thank you for your openness and spiritual encouragement. God has already been using the pain He has allowed in your life to bless me and others. I have prayed and sang and cried this Psalm many times already in our journey so far and it’s such an encouragement.

    The natural human response to suffering is to imagine ourselves innocent and wronged and to ask, “why?” But Christ, who was the only truly innocent one, didn’t ask “why”, but said instead, “Your will be done.” A few weeks ago, our pastor was preaching on suffering and said that in trials, instead of asking “why?”, we should be asking, “how?” How, Lord, are You working this out for Your glory and my good? Hard stuff to remember and let sink into our hearts!

    This Psalm is so good at reminding us to cry out to God, and reminding us of His care and provision for us. It’s good to speak God’s truth to ourselves.

    Like

    1. Oh wow, your comment really blessed me so much! It means so much to know that my words can encourage others in this tough time. I was also blessed to hear those thoughts from your pastor — good word! I hope you can continue to be blessed by this blog for as long as you need it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

