What’s a special infertility verse for you? (Interactive)

This is another interactive post, so get your pencils ready.

retreatI want to know (so I can mooch it off you, of course), what is one verse or passage that has been very close to your heart during your infertility?

If you’re like me, there have been many, maybe even a new one every week or month, that God has given you for hope and encouragement. Will you share just one (ok, I may allow two, if you really can’t pick) that has stuck especially close to you?

If I had to pick one, I may still go back to the one that started it all (including this blog – Post #1!) for me:

Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent? If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!

-Matthew 7:9-11

…Ok, now you go!

isa

One thought on “What’s a special infertility verse for you? (Interactive)

  1. Maria

    🙂 Like you said, I think I have a new favorite verse about every week. One that’s stuck with me though, is Psalm 4:
    1 Answer when I call, O God of my righteousness!
    You have given me relief when I was in distress.
    Be gracious to me and hear my prayer!
    2 O men, how long shall my honor be turned into shame?
    How long will you love vain words and seek after lies? Selah
    3 But know that the LORD has set apart the godly for himself;
    the LORD hears when I call to Him.
    4 Be angry and do not sin;
    ponder in your own hearts on your beds, and be silent. Selah
    5 Offer right sacrifices, and put your trust in the LORD.
    6 There are many who say, “Who will show us some good?
    Lift up the light of your face upon us, O LORD!
    7 You have put more joy in my heart than they have when their grain and wine abound
    8 In peace I will both lie down and sleep;
    for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.

    Early in my infertility journey, I struggled with admitting my sorrow and blaming God, calling Him unjust. We had honored Him, done what is right, lived a life pleasing to Him and He still withheld the blessing of children from us. How was this fair when He would grant children to those clearly disobeying him? My mother wisely pointed out that I was turning back to a covenant of works and thinking I was good enough to earn children. Ouch, a good rebuke, but painful. God used this correction to help me see that I can call out to Him, (I’m called to cast my cares on Him!) to tell of my sorrows, to say, “Ah Sovereign Lord, what you have given me is hard, it’s painful!” without blaming Him; to not sin in my grief.

    He promised to give us joy, what hope! I can trust Him to keep me safely. I like to sing this Psalm when I’m having a tough time remembering God’s promises. Some times it helps me remember. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

