Psalm 33 – Praise befits the upright

I recently fell in love with Psalm 33. I’ve been reading it every morning in addition to my normal Bible reading, and I can’t get tired of it. I actually found it in reverse, when I was searching for another verse and found the last few verses of this one. I plan to frame them in our new house, as they are just perfect for our family.

“Our soul waits for the Lord; he is our help and our shield.

For our heart is glad in him, because we trust in his holy name.

Let your steadfast love, O Lord, be upon us, even as we hope in you.”

I love how this Psalm touches on so many important and special themes for us. It starts with worship (v.1-3), then praises the awesome character of God and the virtues God loves and we should as well (v.4-5). It reminds us of God as the great Creator, as well as the Sovereign One who sees all things (v. 6-11). It calls the nations to Him (v. 12-15), then reminds us that all power, provision and strength is found in Him and nothing else (v. 16-19), thus concluding with the prayer quoted above (v. 20-22). In addition to speaking of waiting on God, I love that the verses above speak of all our hope being in God alone, and the power of His holy name. I also appreciate that it mentions finding gladness in Him. It’s just so beautiful, I just can’t get over it.

I want to invite you to just listen to this Psalm. Americans, being a highly literate people, are not prone to enjoy listening to things. But this Psalm was meant to be sung and heard. We don’t have the original tune, of course, so this recording is just a reading. But press play, close your eyes and soak in the truths and assurances contained in this ancient inspired song. You may want to listen a few times in a row. Perhaps you will considering listening once a morning each day this week before you meet with God.

ps331 ps332 ps333

Leave a Reply

