Psalms 30-36 — The Lord is my hiding place

This morning I came to the Lord with a heavy heart. Last night we went to visit a family we hadn’t seen in several months. It was a lovely time, except that the moment I walked in the door the mother and sisters were asking if I was surely not pregnant yet. And of course, I’m not. And to add to it, one of them had her first baby a couple months ago, and another is 9 months pregnant. So it was the talk of the night. I’m kind of used to it by now, but it inflamed the longing of my heart some. So this morning I came to the Lord in my quiet time with that weighing on me. And in His faithfulness, He spoke to me in His word.

I mentioned recently that I’ve been reading a Psalm or two at random each morning. Today I just sort of opened to Psalm 30, and read on for a few pages. When I can, I like to take the time to read the Psalms aloud. It really enhances my understanding and brings the word more to life. Also, if I have time (today was my day off, so I did), I like to reread scripture that speaks to me, a few times in a row.

I was so touched by Psalms 30-36 this morning, I had to come and recommend them to you all. Several times I had to stop to cry. I want to share a few of the verses that stood out to me, but please don’t let this substitute for your own reading of the full scripture.

One note I will add for guidance is that David wrote these Psalms to the Lord one of his personal great life trials. As king, he was being targeted by the opposition, hunted and hated. So there are many references to that in these Psalms (see Psalm 35, which is pretty much all about that). Instead of throwing out the baby with the bathwater (or trying to poetically apply his trial to yours by calling infertility “my enemy” or something), I recommend taking those lines and briefly filling in, mentally, a relevant part of your trial. I’m not saying to rewrite scripture, but to take the idea behind David’s words, many of which were particular to his situation, and apply them to your situation. I tried that this morning, and it really made the passage more alive than just throwing out verses all together, like I’d normally do.

Here are some verses that really stood out to me today. I’m going to post from Psalm 36 tomorrow, with a song. After you read for yourself, please comment with other verses that touched you!

Sing praises to the LORD, O you His saints, and give thanks to His holy name.

For His anger is but for a moment, and His favor is for a lifetime.

Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes in the morning. [30:4-5]

 

Into Your hand I commit my spirit; You have redeemed me, faithful God.

I hate those who pay regard to worthless idols, but I trust in the LORD.

I will rejoice and be glad in Your steadfast love, because You have seen my affliction;

You have known the distress of my soul […]

Be gracious to me, O LORD, for I am in distress;

my eye is wasted from grief; my soul and my body also.

For my life is spent with sorrow, and my years with sighing […]

Love the LORD, you His saints!

The LORD preserves the faithful but abundantly repays the one who acts in pride.

Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the LORD! [31:5-7;9-10;23-24]

Please check on my previous post on Psalm 33.

37.2
Click for Psalm 3234
Click for Psalm 34

 

Leave a Reply

