When God seems silent

We have struggled in recent months with feeling like we are only receiving silence from God. We feel we keep praying for direction, for answers, for help, and getting nothing back. It’s painful sometimes. We’ll take anything from Him but it feels like there is nothing.

Often when I pray, “Speak to us, Oh God!” I know the answer is, “I already have.” And even though you really kind of want a voice to say, “Ok, go for IVF” or whatever, you know this is the true answer. He’s already spoken. His word is a light (Psalm 119), His word has power (Hebrews 4:12), His word is truth (John 17:17).

I reveled in this today, as I read Psalm 94:17:

If the Lord had not been my help,

my soul would soon have lived in the land of silence.

But the Lord is your help, and you do not have to live in the “land of silence.”

For good measure, I want to include verses 18-19 after it, which were also a good word,

When I thought, ‘My foot slips,’ Your steadfast love, Oh Lord, held me up.

When the cares of my heart are many, your consolations cheer my soul.

 

 

3 thoughts on “When God seems silent

  1. I have the same thing!! I keep telling myself that until I hear something new, to stay on the course of what he has already told me. Praying for your breakthrough to happen soon. You will have an awesome testimony!!

    Like

  2. We have seen the Lord answer so many “small requests” lately. Even though the big request of my heart still seems unanswered, it’s been a blessing to see evidence that He is listening. (-:

    Like

  3. My problem lately is that we keep running into closed doors. So far, the tests we planned have been canceled for circumstances beyond our control (scheduling conflict at the hospital and a random snowstorm). The cancelations make me wonder if God is pointing another direction. I’m thankful that He has already spoken through His Word, but I’m with you in wishing He would give loud and clear directions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

