Suggested books on prayer

In followup to yesterday’s post on growing our prayer lives, I wanted to give some suggested reading. But really, guys, please don’t over-think it. As I told you yesterday and in posts past, Jesus gave us really clear instruction for prayer, so we don’t need to read a bunch of books before diving in.

I have read some of these, and some I’ve had suggested to me by trusted friends. Please comment if you have any to add, or to give your review of any of these books!

Prayer by Philip Yancey

The Spirit of the Disciplines by Dallas Willard

The Practice of the Presence of God by Brother Lawrence

Too Busy Not to Pray by Bill Hybels

These haven’t been recommended to me yet, but in my searching I came across them and they looked good. I have read other writings by their authors, so I expect them to be biblical and trustworthy, and hope to read them in the future.

Prayer: The Ultimate Conversation by Charles Stanley

Does Prayer Change Things? by R.C. Sproul (the Kindle edition is currently free!)

The Prayer of the Lord by R.C. Sproul (the Kindle edition is currently free!)

Lord, Teach me to Pray in 28 Days by Kay Arthur

A  Hunger for God: Desiring God through Fasting and Prayer by John Piper

When I took the prayer class, these were the required books:

Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire by Jim Cymbala

The Prayer Factor by Sammy Tippit

The Pursuit of God by A.W. Tozer

Leave a Reply

