What Job said in the valley

From Job 23

Do you have this confidence in the Lord these days?

 “Behold, I go forward, but he is not there,

and backward, but I do not perceive him;

on the left hand when he is working, I do not behold him;

he turns to the right hand, but I do not see him.

But he knows the way that I take;

when he has tried me, I shall come out as gold.”

I love those verses! What confidence we have — we may not see Him or get what He’s doing, but we can be sure that He sees us, and will use this for our good.

And is your testimony like this, in your darkest moments?

“My foot has held fast to his steps;

I have kept his way and have not turned aside.

I have not departed from the commandment of his lips;

I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my portion of food.”

Earlier is this chapter, Job was imagining how it would be to go face-to-face with God and plead his case. Haven’t we all been there? But by the end of these verses, he is brought back to the reality of who God is and who Job is. Have you lost sight of your place and God’s place?

“But he is unchangeable, and who can turn him back?

What he desires, that he does.

For he will complete what he appoints for me,

and many such things are in his mind.”

That’s a lot to think about, from just a handful of verses! I’ll leave you those to contemplate today. Please comment with any thoughts. 

job23

2 thoughts on “What Job said in the valley

  1. I’ve thought of the correlation between Job and myself many times on this journey!! It’s so important to keep our testimony not only intact, but continually growing through our trials!! Thank you!!

    Like

  2. This really hit home for me and explains a lot about how I’ve been feeling lately. That knowledge that God is there with me and turning this trial for good even when I can’t see how or feel his presence is such a comfort to me. A good song that goes well with this post is “Never Alone” by Barlow Girl… I’ve been singing it to myself quite a bit of late.

    Like

Leave a Reply

