One thing

one thingSeveral years ago I heard a Bible Study lesson about the “one thing” verses in the Bible. These verses focus our hearts to the one really important thing in the world: Christ’s work for us and following Him above all. I have treasured these verses since then.

Psalm 27:4, as the Psalmist proclaims there is no other worthy pursuit in his life

One thing have I asked of the LORD, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to inquire in his temple.”

Mark 10:21, when a rich man came seeking eternal life

“And Jesus, looking at him, loved him, and said to him, ‘You lack one thing: go, sell all that you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow me.'”

Luke 10:41-42, when Jesus was teaching Mary and busy Martha

“Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

Philippians 3:13-14, when Paul counts all things in his life as nothing, except this one thing

“But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

…What other verses am I missing?

Of course it was pretty exciting recently when a worship song came out, singing about the one thing! You probably know it, but in light of our reflection on this one thing above all things, listen again with new ears.

And on and on and on and on it goes; and it overwhelms and satisfies my soul. 

2 thoughts on “One thing

  1. Pingback: Throwback Thursday: One thing | Redeeming Infertility

Leave a Reply

