You let me catch my breath, even in the valley of death

What a precious song by JJ Heller, a Christian singer and songwriter who I am really coming to love. I can’t find much online to back this up, but I’ve heard JJ Heller and her husband struggled to conceive and eventually adopted (does anyone know for sure if this is true?). Based on the heart of many of her songs, like this one, I wouldn’t be surprised if that were true.

This song seems to speak from the viewpoint of David, particularly in the Psalms. It is such a perfect whisper of the great truth that Christ is absolutely all we need, especially for those of us deeply, painfully longing for something (someone) else.

Here are the lyrics and the Bible verses that I found to compliment them, followed by the song.

Don’t need a thing
My good Shepherd brings me all
You are all I need.

“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.” -Psalm 23:1a

You let me catch my breath
Even in the valley of death
You are all I need.

“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, […]
for you are with me; your rod and your staff,
  they comfort me.” -Psalm 23:4

All I need to be complete
Is Your love
Your blood that covers me.

“…and in Him you have been made complete…” -Colossians 2:10

You lift up my head
You provide the wine and bread
You, You are all I need.

“But you, O LORD, are […] the lifter of my head.” -Psalm 3:3

“You cause the grass to grow for the livestock
    and plants for man to cultivate,
that he may bring forth food from the earth
and wine to gladden the heart of man,
oil to make his face shine
    and bread to strengthen man’s heart.” -Psalm 104:14-15

There’s no need to fear
Even with my enemies here
You are all I need.

I will fear no evil,
for you are with me…” -Psalm 23:4b

All I need to be complete
Is Your love
Your blood that covers me.

Goodness and mercy are following me
You’re all that I need.

You make a home for me
Where pastures are green as far as I see
You are all I need.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord
    forever.” -Psalm 23:6

“He makes me lie down in green pastures.” -Psalm 23:1b

All I need to be complete
Is Your love
Your blood that covers me.

Leave a Reply

